A woman at the head of the FMSQ

Montreal, March 21, 2014 – In a special meeting yesterday evening, the annual Delegates' Assembly, the decision-making body of the Fédération des médecins spécialistes du Québec (FMSQ), held an election to appoint the new President and Vice-President of the Board of Directors. For the first time in their history, the Delegates elected a woman, Dr Diane Francœur, as President of their organization.

Dr Francœur, an obstetrician-gynecologist at the Sainte-Justine University Hospital Centre, thus becomes the seventh President of the FMSQ. The Delegates also named Dr Raynald Ferland, an oto-rhino-laryngologist at the Centre hospitalier de l'Université Laval, to the position of Vice-President.

Dr Stephen Rosenthal, an emergency medicine specialist at the Jewish General Hospital – Sir Mortimer B. Davis, will act as Treasurer while Dr Richard Montoro, a psychiatrist at the MUHC – Montreal General Hospital, pursues his duty of Secretary. The other members elected to the FMSQ's Board of Directors are : Dr Harold Bernatchez, a medical microbiologist and infectious disease specialist at the Centre hospitalier régional de Rimouski, elected to the position of Outlying Regions Representative; Dr Roger C. Grégoire, a colorectal surgeon at the Centre hospitalier universitaire de Québec – Hôpital Saint-François d'Assise; Dr Lucie Opatrny, an internist at St. Mary's Hospital Center; and Dr Karine Tousignant, a nephrologist at the Centre hospitalier régional de Trois-Rivières, elected to the position of Intermediate Regions Representative. The mandate of this Board of Directors is to last one year and the next regular general election will take place in March 2015.

The Delegates' Assembly is made up of medical specialists who represent all the medical associations affiliated with the FMSQ.

The Fédération des médecins spécialistes du Québec represents close to 10,000 medical specialists certified in one of the 53 recognized medical specialties.